My Week in Haiku — week 8

Adventures in dentistry, madam-turned-maid, and a rodent port-a-potty

Linda Kowalchek/L.K. Smithe
4 min readDec 24, 2023
Photo by author.

Like they say, teeth one day, gone the next. Or something like that.
My week began with dental work on the lower right quadrant of my mouth in preparation for upper and lower partials. Everything went smoothly. The dentist and her assistant did me a phenomenal job. The tons of Novocain I was injected with knocked me on my ass, and I felt nothing. Until the next day.

I ended up with a bit of an infection and bleeding that wouldn’t stop. So, I’m taking antibiotics to get that under control.

Things have improved. No more bleeding and less pain. And I feel better overall. I consider it a success.

The upper left quadrant of my mouth is next to be worked on at the end of January.

The missing teeth aren’t super noticeable, so that’s a nice thing.

I spent a day at my sister’s big house in the even bigger woods while the cleaning girl made the house neat and tidy. I call her a “girl” because she hasn’t even hit 30 yet.

She is a super cool and down-to-earth person. And she has a fascinating (some would say “colorful”) background.

--

--

Linda Kowalchek/L.K. Smithe

Writing about real life. Proponent of the passive voice and bringing “that” back. Member of the typewriter generation. Reach me at Linda.kowalchek@gmail.com